Artificial Sweeteners: Which are Safe and Which are Not?

letstalkfood
Artificial Sweeteners: Which are Safe and Which are Not?
Alright, so Nutrition 101 class teaches that ingesting sugar increases your desire for sugar. This means that the more sugary foods you eat, the more your body will crave. Many people have, as a result of this, switched to artificial sweeteners. There are so many things out there (Stevia, Nectresse, Splenda, Truvia, Agave, etc.) that it can be overwhelming to decide what to purchase and what to put in your body.

To make grocery shopping a little easier, I have compiled the following chart. I hope it helps!

Sugar Substitute:

Pros:

Cons:

Aspartame Low in calories (or 0 calories) Chemically created; confliction evidence regarding   safety; though low in calories (or containing zero calories)

, some studies   have shown that people who consume diet soda (with aspartame) weigh more than those who don’t

Agave Low glycemic index Usually 70-80% fructose (that’s more than what is found in   high-fructose corn syrup)    radically increases insulin levels; produced with the following chemicals: activated   charcoal, cationic and ionic resins, sulfuric acid, dicalite, clarimex,   insulin enzymes, and fructozyme; the fructose in agave is linked, largely, to   America’s obesity epidemic
Sucralose (Splenda) 0 calories Processed using chlorine
High Fructose Corn Syrup Relatively cheap to produce Significantly linked to obesity and weight gain; linked to type-2   diabetes; linked to hypertension; linked to liver damage; often containing   high levels of mercury
Stevia Generally accepted as the “safest” sweetner; not   related to sugar, but is extracted from plants, naturally; some studies have   shown this can enhance glucose tolerance 300x sweeter than sugar; sometimes a licorice-like   aftertaste
Truvia Made in part from Stevia, this is generally accepted as being pretty   safe (side note: Coca Cola and Cargill now use this product) Made from Stevia, combined with other flavors—so it is not as natural   as Stevia
Sugar alcohols (Xylitol, Sorbitol, and   Erythritol) Natural sweeteners made from fermentation process of   corn or sugar cane; lower in calories than pure sugar and honey (but more   than Stevia); found to prevent catives Consuming too much of these sweeteners can cause   gastrointestinal problems
Organic, Raw Honey Contains cancer-defending antioxidants; (side note: honey can also be   used to help skin heal with cuts, scrapes, and burns); low in the glycemic   index (meaning if you add it to tea you won’t experience a drop in blood sugar—causing   lower energy) Contains higher fructose levels than other sweenters like Truvia and   Stevia
Molasses Contains iron, potassium, and calcium (so it’s quite   nutritionally dense) It’s also quite calorie-dense—and not recommended for   those with diabetes

Summary: Agave is the most overlooked danger, in my opinion. It should be avoided, along with Aspartame, Sucralose, and HFCS.  Stevia is my favorite to cook and bake with (given that it is of natural composition, and has no major side effects). In the end, I try to use fruit purees with baking, and use artificial sweeteners sparingly.

14 thoughts on “Artificial Sweeteners: Which are Safe and Which are Not?

  1. Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make
    my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Bless you

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I really believe this site needs far more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the information!

  3. Hi there! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able
    to resolve this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share.

    With thanks!

    • Hey! No problem; I’m not sure why mine looks this way… I created the banner and I have a plain green background, so maybe it is just less complex and therefore is better on mobile devices? I’d love to help, but I am not technologically inclined. 🙂

  4. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  5. Hey! I understand this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to
    ask. Does building a well-established blog like yours take a large amount of
    work? I’m brand new to operating a blog however I do write in my diary daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

